Perinton Recycling and Shredding Day

Click here for printer-friendly version
Thursday, January 10, 2019 - 8:22am


May 11, 2019



Monroe County Department of Environmental Services (DES) and the towns of Perinton and Pittsford and the villages of East Rochester, Fairport and Pittsford have joined forces to hold an appointment-only Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) collection at the Perinton Highway Garage, 100 Cobb’s Lane, on Saturday,

May 11, 2019 from 7:45 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Most HHW (paint, flammables and other chemicals from home-use) is safe when used and stored properly. When they become unwanted and are disposed of improperly, these household wastes can become environmental hazards.

This collection will also accept your old computer and electronic equipment for recycling. Drop off your unwanted computers, laptops, modems, servers, peripherals, GPS Units, cell phones, fax Machines, copiers, CD Players, IT equipment, audio/ visual equipment, and telecommunications equipment.  See below for applicable charges. No appointment is necessary if you are only recycling electronics.

Personal (residential only) document shredding will be offered free of charge.


Electronics (No appointment necessary)

Computers, printers, phones, microwaves and other electronics will be accepted free of charge. The following fees are charged for recycling televisions and computer monitors with CRT Screens:

Computer Monitor – $10.00

CRT TV ≤ 27" – $20.00

CRT TV > 27" – $40.00

CRT TV - Oversized (Console, Rear-Projection) – $50.00

Please note that these fees are payable with cash only.


Document Shredding (No appointment necessary)

 Free on-site document destruction

 4-5 box limit.

 No need to remove staples/paperclips

To ensure safety and reduce waiting times, appointments are required at all HHW collections.  Appointments for this HHW collection will be accepted until May 10, 2019. To schedule an appointment Perinton and Fairport residents should call 223-5115. Pittsford and East Rochester residents can call 248-6250, or you can go on-line to to schedule your appointment. This collection is open to all Monroe County residents. Waste from businesses will not be accepted.


Up to 30 gallons of the following materials will be accepted per appointment at no charge:


  • Oil-based & Latex Paint (for 1/3-gallon or less of latex paint: discard lid, add kitty litter, let dry, place can in trash)
  • Wood Stain & Preservatives
  • Automotive Fluids (antifreeze; brake, power steering and transmission fluids)
  • Pesticides & Fertilizers
  • Flammable Products (gasoline, kerosene, thinners, strippers, solvents)
  • Household Cleaners (liquid soaps & waxes, drain cleaners, etc.)
  • Driveway Sealer
  • Pool & Photo Chemicals
  • Rechargeable (Ni-Cad) & Button Batteries
  • Mercury (thermometers, thermostats)
  • Syringes/Sharps (safely packaged)


Do Not Bring: used motor oil & vehicle batteries (contact service station or retailer); Pharmaceutical Wastes, Propane tanks (permanent HHW facility only), cans with dried paint (if it rattles when shaken – remove lid and place in trash); empty containers (trash or recycle); everyday alkaline batteries (trash); glazing/spackle & joint compounds (trash).


If residents are unable to take advantage of this one day HHW collection, the County offers other collections throughout the year. For more information, or for business waste disposal options go on-line at